International

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec, pellentesque eu, pretium quis, sem. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel, aliquet nec, vulputate eget, arcu. In enim justo, rhoncus ut, imperdiet a, venenatis vitae, justo. Nullam dictum felis eu pede mollis pretium.

Un retraité de la section locale 222 nourrit des réfugiés ukrainiens

Joe Sarnovsky, membre retraité de la section locale 222, qui a servi sa section locale pendant plusieurs années comme directeur du secteur des communications, est en Pologne en tant que cuisinier bénévole pour les Ukrainiens qui fuient l’invasion russe.

« C’est une expérience assez émouvante, a-t-il déclaré depuis Przemysl, en Pologne, où il est bénévole pour l’organisme World Central Kitchen. J’ai rencontré des gens incroyables, des Ukrainiens fuyant la guerre et des bénévoles du monde entier. »

Les travailleuses et travailleurs mexicains chez GM ratifient une entente

Les travailleuses et travailleurs de General Motors à Silao, au Mexique, ont ratifié une nouvelle convention collective, la première négociée par leur syndicat indépendant soutenu par le CILAS et Unifor, qui leur donne pour la première fois une voix dans leur milieu de travail, plus d’argent et de meilleures conditions de travail.

Des syndicats lancent une campagne demandant au gouvernement du Canada le rapatriement immédiat des Canadiens emprisonnés illégalement en République dominicaine

TORONTO – L’Association des pilotes de ligne internationale (ALPA), le Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique (SCFP) et Unifor lancent une campagne publique pour demander au gouvernement du Canada le rapatriement immédiat des cinq Canadiens qui ont été illégalement emprisonnés en République dominicaine après avoir signalé un crime dans lequel ils n’étaient pas impliqués.

Journée mondiale de la liberté de la presse

Le journalisme est pris d’assaut, au sens propre comme au sens figuré, ce qui rend aujourd’hui la liberté de la presse plus pertinente et plus importante que jamais.

Unifor fait un don de 150 000 $ pour aider l’Ukraine

TORONTO – Unifor fait un don de 150 000 $ à la Croix-Rouge pour l’aider à venir en aide au peuple ukrainien à la suite de l’invasion russe.

« Le peuple ukrainien a fait preuve d’une force et d’une détermination extraordinaires face à cette invasion, a déclaré Lana Payne, secrétaire-trésorière nationale d’Unifor. La grâce et la détermination des Ukrainiens ont été une inspiration pour le monde entier, et nous devons y répondre. Le monde doit s’unir et faire preuve de solidarité et de soutien. »

Lettres de solidarité avec les journalistes ukrainiens

Lyudmyla Perelygina
Présidente
Syndicat des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels d’Ukraine
25, rue Shota Rustaveli, bureau 309
01019 Kiev
Ukraine

Chère Lyudmyla,

Chers collègues et ami(e)s, au nom d’Unifor et du secteur des médias d’Unifor, nous vous écrivons pour exprimer notre soutien, notre solidarité et notre profonde sympathie à nos collègues du Syndicat des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels d’Ukraine et à tous les journalistes en ces temps difficiles.

International

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec, pellentesque eu, pretium quis, sem. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel, aliquet nec, vulputate eget, arcu. In enim justo, rhoncus ut, imperdiet a, venenatis vitae, justo. Nullam dictum felis eu pede mollis pretium.

Local 222 retiree feeding Ukrainian refugees

Retired Unifor Local 222 member Joe Sarnovsky, who served his local for several years as communications director, is in Poland as a volunteer cook for Ukrainians fleeing the Russian invasion.

“It is quite an emotional experience,” Sarnovsky said from Przemysl, Poland, where he is volunteering with World Central Kitchen. “I’ve met some incredible people – Ukrainians fleeing the war, and volunteers from around the world.

Mexican GM workers ratify

General Motors workers in Silao, Mexico have ratified a new collective agreement – the first negotiated by their CILAS/Unifor-backed independent union – that gives them a voice in the workplace for the first time, more money and improved working conditions.

Unions Launch Campaign Calling on Canadian Government to Secure Immediate Return of Wrongfully Imprisoned Canadians in the Dominican Republic

TORONTO – The Air Line Pilots Association International (ALPA), Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), and Unifor are launching a public campaign calling on the Government of Canada to secure the safe return of five Canadians who have been arbitrarily imprisoned in the Dominican Republic after reporting a crime they were not involved in.

World Press Freedom Day

Journalism is under attack - literally and figuratively, and that makes freedom of the press more relevant and important today than it ever has been.

Totalitarian regimes and terrorists are attacking and even killing journalists. Right-wing politicians and online harassers are abusing and harassing journalists, police forces are arresting journalists for just doing their jobs and social media platforms are implicit in inciting harassment and spreading misinformation to make it harder to discern the truth.

For peace, worker rights and progress on May Day 2022

In the spirit of International Workers Day, May 1, 2022, Unifor joins with workers around the world in calling for peace and worker rights.

We stand with the workers and people of Ukraine who in this moment suffer the scourges of war with bombardments and assaults on cities and towns throughout their country resulting in a humanitarian and refugee crisis.  According to the United Nations High Commission on Refugees, 5,085,360 refugees fled Ukraine between Feb 22 and April 20, 2022. 

Unifor donates $150,000 to help Ukraine

TORONTO – Unifor is donating a total of $150,000 to the Red Cross to assist with its efforts to help the people of Ukraine following the Russian invasion.

“The people of Ukraine have shown incredible strength and determination in the face of this invasion,” said Unifor National Secretary-Treasurer Lana Payne. “The grace and resolve of the Ukrainian people have been an inspiration to the world, and we must respond to that. The world must come together and show solidarity and support.”

Letter of solidarity with Ukrainian journalists

Lyudmyla Perelygina, Chair
Cultural Workers Union of Ukraine
25, Shota Rustaveli Street, Office. 309
01019 Kiev, Ukraine

Dear Lyudmyla,

Colleagues and friends, on behalf of Unifor and Unifor’s Media Sector we write to extend our support, solidarity and deepest sympathies with our colleagues in the Cultural Workers Union of Ukraine and all journalists during these difficult times.