Regional Racial Justice Forums

Christine Maclin and a diverse group of Unifor activists in matching racial justice t-shirts raise their fists in a sign of solidarity.

Unifor will be hosting seven forums to bring together Union leadership, activists, employers and community organizations to foster new ideas, partnerships and connections, as well as to create tools, strategies, and policies for racial justice – in our locals, workplaces and communities. These forums are a part of the Federal Government Anti-Racism Action Program grant that Unifor was accepted for in 2020. Unifor strongly believes that it is critical for us to unite, learn and support each other and collaborate in an effort to dismantle and eliminate racism and build a truly anti-racist labour movement and world. These events will be hosted in each region by one of our five Racial Justice Liaisons.  Each event is unique, consisting of panel discussions, guest speakers and breakout rooms for all of us to be able to converse, share perspectives and ideas that will contribute to this work.

Most events are open to all. However, we are sending invitations to key allies and partners who we believe will find this conversation useful in their own work.  We all need to be a part of the solution to combat racism. We will be compiling tools, practices, resources and identify paths towards racial justice for working people. Join us and be a part of the change.

 

September 16th , 2021, 1pm ADT/ 12pm EST "Racial Justice: Fostering Spaces of Belonging"

Atlantic Racial Justice Forum NS & PEI

(this event will be approximately 4 hours in duration)

Register for this event

 

September 18th 2021, 10:00am EST  “ Thinking Outside the Box for Inclusion”

Quebec Racial Justice Forum

(this event will be approximately 3 hours in duration)

Register for this event

 

September 18th 2021, 1:00pm EST Ontario Racial Justice Forum “Lessons for Taking on Racism”

(This event is specifically for Black, Indigenous and workers of Colour)

(this event will be approximately 4 hours in duration)

Register for this event

 

September 23rd 2021, 1:00pm CT/2:00pm EST “Creating Inclusive Workspaces Through Trauma Informed Workplaces”

Prairie Racial Justice Forum

(this event will be approximately 4 hours in duration)

Register for this event

 

September 25th 2021, 1:00pm NST/ 11:30 EST "Racial Justice: Fostering Spaces of Belonging"

Atlantic Racial Justice Forum NB & NL

(this event will be approximately 4 hours in duration)

Register for this event

 

October 2nd 2021, 10:00am PST/ 1:00pm EST “Race & Income Inequality” BC Racial Justice Forum

(this event will be approximately 4 hours in duration)

Register for this event

 

October 16th 2021, 1:00pm EST

“Racism is a virus” Ontario Racial Justice Forum

(this event will be approximately 4 hours in duration)

Register for this event