Unifor’s ORC Chair wins 2023 Leading Women Leading Girls Award

Main Image
Two women stand together, holding a certificate award.

Shinade Allder, Unifor Ontario Regional Council Chair, has won the 2023 Leading Women, Leading Girls, Building Communities Award for her leadership work to break down racial barriers and encourage Black youths to pursue careers where they can make change.

“Congratulations, Shinade, for all your hard work,” said Lana Payne, Unifor National President. “This is a wonderful recognition of her activism and the barriers she crushes everyday.”

Allder was presented the award by New Democrat MPP Peggy Sattler last week.

Sattler said each year, her office recognizes the “remarkable contributions of women and girls” who live in London West region and who have made significant change, including breaking down barriers and encouraging women and girls to get involved in non-traditional careers and championing or actively promoting equality, diversity, healthy equal relationships issues. 

The nominees also are recognized for efforts to prevent violence against women and girls and reducing racism and discrimination.

Allder said she was surprised and honoured to be recognized for the work she does in the community.  She has been volunteering in the community since at least high school, because she enjoys giving back and helping those in need.

Allder is the first Black president of Unifor Local 6005 and the first woman and Black person to chair Unifor’s Ontario Regional Council. She also co-founded the Black Education Fund, a non-profit scholarship that helps Black students access post-secondary schools. Allder said she believes removing roadblocks to education is critical for overcoming anti-Black racism in Canada.

“To be considered a leader in the community by breaking down barriers and being Unifor’s first woman and woman of colour ORC Chair is a huge achievement,” she said.

“Representation matters and it means a lot that women and girls of any diverse background can accomplish great things. It really is an honour to be nominated by four different people/organizations in the community to be the recipient of this award.”