National Executive Board swears in new members

Main Image
Two women standing together, both wearing poppies on their collars.

Unifor’s National Executive Board (NEB) opened its meetings this week by swearing in new members to the board.

Among them was Michelle Wilson, Unifor’s first Indigenous Representative on the NEB, who was elected at the Black, Indigenous and Workers of Colour (BIWOC) Conference last September.

“Indigenous workers face compounded challenges when it comes to work and employment. Indigenous representation on our NEB will equip our union with additional efforts in our fight for Truth and Reconciliation,” said Unifor National President Lana Payne.

Wilson said she was looking forward to working with the board by “opening new doors and creating new paths.”

“We’ve never had dedicated [Indigenous] representation at the table, and there is much to do to build support for Indigenous workers inside our union and beyond,” she said. “I hope to be able to work with BIWOC NEB member Dereck Berry to create openings and doors for all.”

NEB agenda items this week include reports from the National President, Quebec Director Daniel Cloutier, Western Regional Director Gavin McGarrigle, Atlantic Regional Director Jennifer Murray and Ontario Regional Director Samia Hashi. 

Other NEB members will also participate in a roundtable discussion during which they can provide updates.

The NEB meetings run until Nov. 9.